Scoops from governorship and house of assembly elections

The People’s Democratic Party, PDP in Osun State has clinched 25 out of the 26 House of Assembly seats.

According to the official results of the polls made available by the Independent National Electoral Commission’s Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Mutiu Agboke, APC won Boripe/Boluwaduro Local Government Area.

The Speaker of the Assembly, representing Ilesa East, Mr Timothy Owoeye, lost his re-election bid to the PDP’s Olatunbosun Oyewole.

Still on the election results, the incumbent Governor of Oyo State, Engineer Seyi Makinde has been declared the winner of Saturday’s gubernatorial poll.

Oyo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Professor Bamire announced that governor makinde won thirty-one out of the thirty three Local Government Areas, while Senator Teslim Folarin won two Local Governments.

Engineer Makinde is the second sitting governor of in the history of the state to be returned for a second term in office after his immediate predecessor, late senator Abiola Ajimobi.

Similarly, Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has won 18 Local Government Areas out of the 20 LGAs of the state in the just concluded governorship and state house of assembly elections.

The results was announced today by the Independent national Electoral Commission at its state collation centre in Yaba, Lagos.

Governor Sanwo-Olu defeateds of the People’s Democratic Party, Olajide Oladiran, and that of the Labour Party, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour to win his second term bid.

However, his opponent, Rhodes-Vivour defeated the ruling party in Amuwo-Odofin,while result from Eti-Osa Iga is being awaited.

Meanwhile, the All Progressive Congress, APC has won the majority of the seats in the Ondo State House of Assembly.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC announced the results on sunday.

The APC won 22 of the 26 constituencies, while the People’s Democratic Party, PDP won the remaining four seats.

In a related development, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has announced the results of the state House of Assembly election held in Ekiti state yesterday.

A statement by the Ekiti state INEC, head of Voters Education and Publicity, Mr Temitope Akanmu says APC won twenty three seats out of the twenty six seats in the assembly.

Also, Social Democratic Party, SDP won two seats while that of Ido/Osi Constituency one was declared inconclusive due to the disruption of the exercise by suspected hoodlums.

The commission said supplementary election would be conducted in the constituency before a winner could be announced.

Report from Ogun state indicates that Governor, Dapo Abiodun, has been re-elected for a second term of four years.

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared the Abiodun winner of the governorship election held on Saturday after polling 276,298 votes.

Abiodun defeated the Peoples Democratic Party governorship candidate in the state, Oladipupo Adebutu, who polled 262,383 votes and 12 other candidates.

Abiodun defeated Adebutu with 13,915 votes.

The returning officer of the governorship election in the state, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, declared Abiodun at the collation centre of the commission in the state.

daily platform

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *