Lagos: Sanwo-Olu re-elected for second term with 762,134 votes

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner of the Saturday’s Governorship election in the state with 762,134.

He defeated his rival, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party who polled 312,329 to secure his second term of four years in office as the Governor of the State.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdul-Azeez Olajide Adediran popularly known as Jandor came a distant third with 62,449.

Returning Officer for the Governorship Election, Prof. Adenike Oladiji who is the Vice-Chancellor of Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), announced the results at the state office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Oladiji who was flanked by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in the state, Olusegun Agbaje and representatives of all security agencies said Sanwo-Olu, “having satisfied the requirements of the law by scoring 25 percent in two thirds of the state and also scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected.”

Sanwo-Olu won 19 out of the 20 local government areas of the state while the LP candidate clinched one Local Government which is Amuwo-Odofin LGA. 

daily platform

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *